Meet the world. Heart?

Hush, hush. Do you hear that?
That’s my heart,
Hammering away amidst all this noise outside.
What? Do you want to meet the world outside? Heart?
I know you don’t.
But you sure want to be heard, don’t you? Heart?
That one time you couldn’t understand why it is called ‘falling’ in love.
That one time you couldn’t understand why leaving the sad home hurt so much.
How you have always been the happiest when you could string a few words together.
How you have tried to leap out a hundred times when you were nervous.
Bruised and battered a hundred times, and still beating.
I won’t let you hear what they say about you.
You’re the strongest, my sweet little heart.
But they say otherwise.
You smile, you laugh, you crinkle, you scream. You….feel.
That is what makes you strong.
That is what makes you human.
Now, do you want to meet the world outside? Heart?
I know you don’t.

-Deepti Nair

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

Hope you all like it. I don’t usually do poems of this length. I just wanted to try something different this time.

You can check more of my writes on Instagram, if you’d like to!

Much love ❤

4 thoughts on “Meet the world. Heart?

Leave a comment