Silhouette

It’s raining outside. I look at the clock in my bedroom. It’s 11:50PM. Somehow, the sixty degrees between the hour hand and the minute hand are making me uncomfortable. I hope they meet soon.
I shift in my bed and find him observing me keenly.

“What happened?”
“We could’ve had more such nights if I weren’t in the Navy.”
I can only smile in response. Not something I hadn’t thought a hundred times.
“But you do know how much I love you, don’t you?”
And the smile on my lips escapes me.

Do I know how much he loves me?
I haven’t found a scale powerful enough to measure love. May be I never really wanted to or may be there isn’t one. There’s nothing like ‘too much love’ or ‘a little love’….or is there? I don’t think so. It is there or it isn’t…shining through all our insecurities, just like sunlight filtering through leaves on a sunny morning.
I snap out of my thoughts as I feel his warmth on my ear.

“Where did you get lost?”
“Nowhere.”

As I begin to take his lips between mine, a tear rolled down my cheek.
The clock just announced that it’s midnight and the rain just got heavier outside.

I open my eyes to the dark emptiness only to realise that it is one of those nights again, as I dreamily trace the outline of his silhouette on my pillow.

-Deepti Nair

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

You can also find me on Instagram.

Much love ❤

Leave a comment